The SCAD emeritus program

The SCAD Faculty/Staff Emeritus Program recognizes the extraordinary and visionary accomplishments of select faculty and staff who have been employed full time at SCAD for a minimum of 20 years. Emeritus status is an honor conferred by the university in recognition of a distinguished career, in appreciation for significant contributions to SCAD, and to enhance the engagement of faculty and staff beyond their retirement for the benefit of students. Nominations for faculty/staff emeritus are reviewed by the SCAD Faculty/Staff Emeritus Nominating Committee and the award recipients are selected by the SCAD Board of Trustees.


  • Pete Christman (1942-2018), professor of photography
  • Pam Poetter (1953-2011), senior vice president for marketing and enrollment management
  • Crystal Weaver, Ph.D., professor of interior design (retired)


  • Pam Wiley, professor of fibers (retired)
  • Steve Mosch, professor of photography
  • Tom Fischer (1946-2019), professor of photography
  • Dominique Elliott, professor of motion media design
  • Hugh Gale, professor of foundations (retired)


  • Deborah Mosch, professor of foundation studies (retired)
  • Craig Stevens, professor of photography
  • Lew Tate (1945-2020), professor of liberal arts
  • Malcolm Kesson, professor of visual effects
  • Josh Yu, professor of painting


  • Marcia Cohen, professor of foundation studies (retired)
  • Margaret Kross, executive director of eLearning and transfer enrollment (retired)
  • Judith Van Baron, Ph.D., former professor and administrator, director of executive programs and compliance officer (retired)


  • Tom Francis, professor of painting (retired)
  • James Janson, professor of art history (retired)
  • John Pierson, professor of furniture design (retired)


  • Stephen Gardner, associate chair and professor of foundation studies
  • Sachiko Honda, professor of fashion
  • Mary Doll, professor of liberal arts (retired)
  • Lisa Hart, professor of foundation studies (retired)