Designed by John S. Norris and built in 1853, the nearly 14,000-square-foot, Italianate brick and stucco structure was originally the private residence of Alexander A. Smets, an erudite French immigrant. The building later housed an extensive private library and artwork collection and in 1883 was purchased by the Harmonie Club. It would serve as one of Savannah’s most prominent social clubs until the 1950s.
SCAD acquired the structure in 1990 and began to restore the building’s unique features, including the only freestanding spiral stairway of its kind in Savannah.
Morris Hall spans nearly one block in historic downtown, occupying 2 and 4 E. Jones St., and now comprises lecture space, labs and offices for fashion marketing and management and luxury and fashion management.