Designed by Gottfried L. Norrman and built in 1896, the building originally served as the Anderson Street Elementary School. In 1962, the former cafeteria, which is now a dining hall, was added. Today the facility houses the foundation studies program, a curriculum of introductory drawing and design courses required of students in all majors.
Designed as a blend of the Classical and Colonial Revival styles, the ornate red brick building sits atop a stone and granite foundation. Arched windows, ornamental stone details and a standing seam metal roof crowned by a classical cupola highlight the exterior.